Poetry.

The mention of your name still lights a fire in my heart. The flame never really burnt out, it’s always flickered dimly. I think about you every day. I know I need to let go, but I’m not ready. I’m uncertain if I’ll ever be ready. You taught me how to smile on the darkest of days and taught me how to love with all my heart. I wish I could speak to you and hear your voice. I want to be the one asking how your day was and the one you come home to. But now I guess I have to watch you from afar. I hope she makes you smile in ways I never did, I hope she touches your heart and heals your soul. You’ll make her the luckiest woman in the world. There are days when I feel invincible, and other days I feel buried in a pile of rubble. I keep telling myself it’s okay to miss you, but not forever. I’ll be okay one day, just not today.

Leave a Reply

